Data Reporting Requirements

Subsidy, Access and Accountability information
This table is provided as a quick reference on reporting requirements for CCDF Administrators and other Lead Agency staff.

State CCDF Plan

Quality Progress Report

Financial Report

Aggregate and Case-Level Reports

Error Rate Reports

Form Number


Not Available Yet


ACF-800 & ACF-801

SDAP, ACF-403, 404, & ACF-405


Application by the Lead Agency for how CCDF will be administered in compliance with federal regulations

Report state progress on improving the quality of child care.

Report estimates and expenditures for CCDF funds

800: Unduplicated count of children and families served

801: Case-level data on children and families served monthly

Measure, calculate, and report error and improper payment findings and identify strategies for reducing future errors and improper payments.



(Note: See information on Amendment process and timelines)



800: Annually

801: Monthly : 90 days after the end of the report month
Quarterly : 60 days after the end of the quarter

Three-year cycle (one-third of states each year)

Reporting Period

Three-year period starting with even fiscal year (for example, FY 2016-2018)

Federal FY October–September (annually)

October 1–December 31

January 1–
March 31

April 1–June 30

July 1–September 30

800: Federal FY

801: Every month or quarter


Year 1 cohort: FY16, due June 2017**

Year 2 cohort: FY17, due June 2018**

Year 3 cohort: FY18, due June**


July 1 prior to start of reporting period (for example, 7/1/8 for FY 2018–2020)

QPR—December 31

30 days after end of quarter

800: December 31

801: Every 90 or 60 days

SDAP – by October 31

ACF-403 – by December 31

ACF-404 – by June 30 of the reporting year

ACF-405 (if applicable) – within 60 days of ACF-404 submission

Notes: Regarding due dates for reports, states are strongly encouraged to submit reports ahead of due dates. This allows time for adjustments that may be needed, any technical challenges that may occur with the submission website, and unexpected absences by Lead Agency staff. [1]

** Each state, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, reports its error rate once every 3 years on a rotational cycle. The 3-year cycle is assigned into cohorts as follows:

Cycle year 1: Alabama, Alaska, California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Texas, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia

Cycle year 2: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin

Cycle year 3: Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Carolina, Wyoming

*** The 31st dates reference “in the calendar year prior to the reporting year.”


[1] CCDF regulations define state as follows: “any of the states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands of the United States, Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, and includes tribes unless otherwise specified” [Child Care and Development Fund, 45 C.F.R. § 98.2 (2016)]. For ease of reading, the term state is used inclusively throughout this resource unless otherwise specified.